Bucksfanian Planetary Rulers

When I created Bucksfanian Astrology, I understood immediately that new rules were needed. With traditional astrology you have 12 signs, 12 houses, and a planetary ruler for each sign. The planetary ruler says what planet has the strongest influence on a specific sign or house. However, since the Sun and Moon are treated like planets, with traditional astrology you have the 8 planets that are part of the Solar System excluding the Earth, a satellite of a planet (the Moon), and the Solar System's central star (the Sun), all playing the part of rulers. Thus you have 10 celestial bodies for 12 signs of the Zodiac.

This means that in certain cases a sign, and its corresponding house, will have the same ruler as another. In traditional astrology Mercury and Venus play the part of dualistic planets, since Mercury is both the ruler of Gemini and Virgo, while Venus rules both Taurus and Libra. Naturally with the Bucksfanian Zodiac things get even more crowded, since we have two additional signs, and apparently no new planets in sight — Sedna or 2003 VB12, a recently discovered celestial body, will probably not play the role of planet, because it seems to be to small compared to the Planet "X" astronomers are searching for.

Perhaps Bucksfanian Astrology will expand things. After all, the Moon is not a planet, and the Sun is not a planet, so who says that one cannot begin using the hundreds of known asteroids, especially the larger and better known ones?

Well, with Bucksfanian Astrology we don't have just two new rulers, but four, two of which are replacing the dual Mercury and Venus, and two new rulers are for the new signs of Orion and Ophiuchus. In addition, the four new rulers are neither planets, nor satellites of planets, or stars.

With the Bucksfanian Zodiac the ruler of the sign of Taurus ceases to be Venus, and becomes Ceres, an asteroid. The ruler of the new sign of Orion is Pallas, an asteroid. The ruler of Virgo ceases to be Mercury, and becomes Vesta, another asteroid. Finally, the new sign of Ophiuchus has a ruler that is both an asteroid and a comet: Chiron.

The table below shows all of the 14 rulers. Also shown below are the orbits of the Solar System's transterrestrial planets, as well as the orbits of the new rulers called Ceres, Pallas, Vesta, and Chiron, as well as the curious orbit of Sedna (2003 VB12).

Bucksfanian Rulers
Month House Field Zodiac Sign Ruler
A XII Career Capricorn Saturn
B 13 Friends Aquarius Uranus
C 14 Secrets Pisces Neptune
D I Ego Aries Mars
E 2 Money Taurus Ceres
F 3 Hunting Orion Pallas
G 4 Communication Gemini Mercury
H V Home Cancer Moon
I 6 Children Leo Sun
J 7 Health Virgo Vesta
K VIII Partners Libra Venus
L 9 Sex Scorpio Pluto
M 10 Medicine Ophiuchus Chiron
N 11 High Culture Sagittarius Jupiter

Solar System beyond Mars' orbit

Orbit of Sedna compared to that of Pluto